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1.4.1 Optional replacement (Clarification):

When a Command, Feat or Event text specifies that the executing faction has a choice as to the
number of pieces it can replace (example: Entreat which says “up to”), then if the executing
Faction does not wish to replace the maximum allowed number (typically when no Available
piece left and no wish to remove from the map), then the excess targeted pieces are not
removed. (Example: “Entreat” allows the Scotti player to replace up to 2 Militia by Scotti
Warbands; if for any reason the Scotti player replaces none or only 1 Militia, then every other
Milita unit(s) in the targeted Region remain on the map).

1.5.1 Spare Factions:

With two players, the player playing the Dux and Civitates may only achieve a victory check (6.3)
if the Briton faction not holding Dominance (6.8) beats the thresholds adjusted for Dominance as
outlined in 7.3:
o Duxto surpass 85 at Roman Rule + Civilian Dominance, 70 at Autonomy + Civilian
Dominance;
o Civitates to surpass 38 at Roman Rule + Military Dominance, 31 at Autonomy + Military
Dominance.

1.7.2 and 3.6.5 (3™ bullet) Plundering a captured City (Clarification):

When a City is successfully captured but the number of surviving assailants is not enough to
carry off the City’s Prosperity as Plunder (i.e. <4 of Londinium, and <2 for Eboracum), the City is
still fully deprived of Prosperity and the excess Plunder is lost (removed off-map).

1.8 Dux Resources (Clarification):

Dux (red) Resources are the sole property of the Dux faction. No other faction may spend these
but him (though the Scotti may Ransom away some). The Dux, as long as Army Preemption is in
effect, can freely mix Briton and Dux Resources when paying for any cost (unless explicitly
prohibited by the action or event text).

Before Fragmentation, the only options to accrue Dux Resources are 1/ Requisition, 2/ Events
(for instance, Imperial Subsidies) and 3/ Transfer of Wealth from the Civitates (1.5.2, Tribute). If
the Dux passes before Fragmentation, he adds Briton (blue) Resources, not Dux Resources (see
the Important Note in 2.3.3).

After Fragmentation, the Dux accrues Resources doing Epoch Rounds (Revenue Phase) or by
passing (he can still Requisition, or benefit from Events or Tribute).

3.2.1 Train (p.7) (Clarification):

The Dux does only needs to pay 3 Resources in a Train space if he is placing Cavalry and/or
Militia; he may pay no Resources for placing Troops and only pay 2 Resources to add Prosperity
cubes in up to 2 spaces, which means it is legal to select Train without paying any Resources if no
Troop is placed and Prosperity is added in 0 spaces. Such an “empty Train” and still counts as a
Command, would allow to add an associated Feat (Build, Invite or Requisition). Note however
that a Feat cannot be “empty”.



3.2.2 and 3.3.2 March (p.8 and 9):
- Add at the end of both sections: “Important — No Unit may ever move more than once per
March Command, though it may move multiple spaces if using Road Movement (not Militia).
- The 7th sentence should read: “Pay 2 Resources per origin space.” (i.e. the cost must be paid
even if no Marching group is formed and moves out)

”

3.2.3 Intercept (p.8):
- Add at the end of this section: “Important — No Unit may ever move more than once per
Intercept Command, though it may move multiple spaces if using Road Movement.”

3.3.1 Muster (p.8) (Clarifications):
- Inthe 1% bullet, the text between hyphens should read: “if under Briton Control (meaning
Civitates Control under Fragmentation, 1.6) at the outset of this Muster Command”
- The beginning of the 2nd bullet should read: “If Friendly pieces outnumber enemy pieces
(including Raiders), ...”

3.4.1 Saxon Raid (p.9):
- Inthe 2" bullet (before the Play Note), replace all references to a “Region” by “space” (i.e. a City
with a Settlement and Warband is a valid Raid origin)

3.4.3 and 3.5.3 March (p.10 and 11):
- Add at the end of both sections: “Important — No Unit may ever move more than once per
March Command, though it can move through and out of a Sea space if using Sea Movement.”

3.5.1 Scotti Raid (p.10):
- Inthe 3 bullet (before the Play Note), replace all references to a “Region” by “space” (i.e. a City
with a Settlement and Warband is a valid Raid origin)
- Inthe 2nd bullet of the Procedure, the text within the second set of brackets should read:
“(under the first or third bullet above)”

3.6.2 Pre-Battle (p.12) (Clarification):
- EvAsION note should read: Groups that Evade successfully do not take part in any ensuing Field
Battle, Assault or Siege (they neither Strike nor absorb losses). If all Units of a side in the Battle
space Evade successfully, there is no Field Battle. (Non-Evading attackers may Assault or Siege
enemy Strongholds.)

3.6.5 Battle Consequences (p.13) (Clarification):
- 1st bullet: if all Cavalry unit present in a battle Withdrew from a field battle without having
Struck or having been Stricken, they are not deemed to have fought, and if the Stronghold they
Withdrew into is not Assaulted, they still not have fought. On the other hand, if Cavalry Struck
then Withdrew (thanks to an Event), or are killed during Trap before having the opportunity to
Withdraw or Strike, or if all the assailants are killed during the Escalade step of the Stronghold
they are defending, they are deemed to have fought.

3.6.6 Siege (p.13) (Clarification):
- Inthe 3rd bullet, the first sequence should read: “The besieger must have a number of non-
Evading Troops (not Raiders) in the space at least equal...”

4.2.2 Invite (p.14):
- The 3rd sentence should start with: “It may occur in just one space that must have both...”



- The Procedure should start with: “In the selected space, either— “

4.4.2 Surprise (p.15):

- Throughout this section, replace all references to a “Region” by “space” (i.e. a City can be a valid
Deep Raid target)

- The 3™ bullet should read: "In the Deep Raid space, either the Dux or a Faction with Control (1.6)
— the Dux has the first option — may force a Battle (3.6), with them as the Defenders and the
Deep Raiding Faction as the Attackers, before the Raiders Plunder (only if Region). If the Dux or
Faction with Control forced a Battle, the Saxons may not further Battle as part of the Raid on this
space. If, as part of such a forced Battle, the Saxons successfully Evade, they may not take
Plunder." (The intention of this clause is to prevent multiple Battles during the same Raid, not to
prevent Deep Raiders from assaulting).

4.4.3 Ravage (p.16), Procedure (Clarification):
- Inthe last sentence of the Procedure, “those Battles” refer to any Battle fought by Saxons in a
Ravage space, whether initiated by them or by another Faction. (In essence, if Ravaging, Saxon
units are spread out in the countryside and cannot avoid battle).

4.5.2 Surprise (p.16):
- The 2nd sentence should read: “A Scotti Deep Raid target counts as one of the four allowed
spaces of the Scotti Raid Command (3.5.1).”

4.5.3 Ransom (p.16), 3™ sentence (Clarification):

- The condition for Ransom to occur is that at least 1 Raider arrived in the target area AFTER
assessing the impact of patrols (sea patrols if coming from a Patrolled sea, Wall patrols if coming
from Caledonia) and Events (some Momentum events impose a negative DRM on Raider rolls)
but BEFORE any Raider might be lost to Battle.

Note that this must be a new Raider, not a unit (Raider or Warband) that would have been
already present in the target area (effectively, every Raid during its resolution is considered
entirely independent from whatever presence the Raiding faction may already be having in the
target area, never combining with any such units, even in Battle).

6.1 Annona Phase:
- Inthe third sentence, “Region” should read “space” (the Epoch Round Player Aid Card is correct)

6.3 Victory Phase:
- Inthe second sentence, the reference after “...immediate Recovery Phase” should be to 6.7
rather than 6.8.

7.1 Ranking Wins and Breaking Ties:

- This section should read: “Whenever any Non-player Faction (1.5, 8.0) passes a victory check
(7.2), all players lose equally. Otherwise, whenever any player does so, he wins. Should more
than one player do so during the same Epoch Round, the highest victory margin (7.3) among the
winners comes in 1st place, 2nd-highest comes in 2nd place, and so on. Ties go to any Non-
players, then the Civitates, then the Dux, then the Saxons.
NOTE: if at least one Faction passes a victory check, no Faction that doesn't may win, no matter
what their victory margin per 7.3 may be.”

7.3 Barbarian Victory Margins (Clarification):



- Barbarian Renown-based Victory Margins factor in a bonus/malus of 5 Renown per Settlement
on the map over/under their requirement of 4, i.e. five times their number of Settlements on the
map (remember this includes both Foederati and non-Foederati Settlements) minus 20 (four
times 5).

- The Saxons, before Fragmentation, enjoy the luxury of having two Victory Conditions (Control
>10, which always applies, and Renown >30 and 4 Settlements on the map), so they can
consider the highest margin of the two: Saxon Control -10 on the one hand, and Saxon Renown -
30 modified by 5x their number of Settlements on the map -20 on the other.

- The Scotti, who have only one Victory Condition, always consider Scotti Renown -45 modified by
5x their number of Settlements on the map -20.

- For example, let us say that we are under Autonomy and the Saxons control spaces totalling 5
Pop, have 5 Settlements on the map (3 non-Foederati and 2 Foederati) and have accumulated 18
Renown. Their victory margin would be the highest of 10 -5 =5 and 18 -30 +5x5 -20 = -7, i.e. -5.
In the meantime, if the Scotti have accumulated 36 Renown, and have 3 Settlements (1
Foederati, 1 non-Foederati and 1 on the Dal Riada Event Card), their victory margin would be 36
-45 +3x5 -20 =-14.

8.6.7 (p.29), 3" line:
- Remove “...or Ravaging...” (Scotti cannot Ravage)

Setup (2.1) (p.37), Deck Preparation (Clarification):

- The Epoch cards should be shuffled among the bottom 4 cards of every 12-card pile with the
cards already face down; besides hiding the card sequence, the intent is to guarantee that at
least 8 non-Epoch cards will be revealed in each Epoch before an Epoch card appears. It is also
important to stack the piles with Early Epoch cards on top of those with Late Epoch cards (again,
with cards already face down), in order to ensure that Early Epoch cards will all come up before
Late Epoch cards.

Barbarian Conspiracy (p.37):
- Victory: the reference in the first sentence should be to sections 6.3 (rather than 6.2) and 6.6.

Petty Tyrants Setup (p.39-40):
- There should be 1x Prosperity in Iceni, not 2x
- There remain 5 Saxon Settlements in the Saxons Available box, not 4 (only 7 Saxon Settlements
are on the map)

The Harder They Fall Setup (p.40), Deck, paragraph below the “Optional” grey box:

- The 2nd sentence should read: “Randomly shuffle one of the two remaining Early Epoch cards
among the bottom 4 cards of the first (top) 12-card pile.”

JPLaysook

Multiplayer Example of Play, Part One — Setup, Deck Preparation (page 3):
- The next to last sentence of the first paragraph at the top of right hand column should read: “Set
the remaining Event and Epoch cards aside.”

Multiplayer Example of Play, Part Two, Card 5 (page 11):



- Last paragraph (Saxons executing shaded Event): the Cavalry units removed by the shaded Event
go to the Dux Available box, not the Casualties box (see text of the Event).

Multiplayer Example of Play, Part Two, Card 7 (page 11):
- First bullet (Scotti raid in Votadini): only six (not seven) Raiders are killed assaulting Traprain
Law, so one Plunder from the Stronghold gets awarded to the third survivor.
- Third bullet (Scotti raid in Ordovices): same thing, only six Raiders are killed assaulting the
Hillfort, leaving 4 surviving Raiders (3 of them carrying Plunder: 1 from the Region and 2 from
the destroyed Stronghold).

Multiplayer Example of Play, Part Two, Card 9 (page 13):
- Seventh paragraph (toward the bottom of the left column, Saxon raid in Atrebates): the total of
the 3D4 as provided should equal 9, not 8, leaving 7 Raiders to land; this has no impact on the
example though.

Multiplayer Example of Play, Part Three, Upkeep (p.15):

- Dux Fourth bullet: owing to the mistake done with Card 5 play, there are only 3 Cavalry in the
Casualties box, not 6 (the other 3 being in the Available box) — All end up in the Available box at
this step anyway.

- Saxons: there are 14 (rather than 13) Saxon Raiders on the map, who all return anyway.

- Scotti First bullet: Since one more Plunder-carrying Scotti Raider survived the Raid in Votadini
(Card 7, page 11), a total of six (not five) Plunder is Returned to Scotti Renown, bringing it up to
20 (not 19). Also, there is a total of 7 (not 5) Scotti Raiders on the map, who all return.

Note: the various illustrations of the state of the board during the Example of Play reflect the same errors as
are in the text.

Non-Players Orientation, Non-Player Pivotal Events (p.18):
- Since Saxon Renown is at 18, their Pivotal Event Adventus Saxonum is playable as well.

Event Notes, Card #37 Bryneich (page 49):
- The second sentence of the Tips should read: “When the shaded Event is played, ...” (rather than
“unshaded”).

Event Notes, Card #70 Ruin of the Villas (page 58) (Clarification):
- The extra plunder granted when the shaded Momentum event is in effect should be taken from
the off-board supply, not from the raided Region’s Prosperity. Note that this extra plunder is
granted even if the Region has already been thoroughly plundered.

Spaces List (page 72):
- The fourth Fens Region should be Corieltauvi, not Catuvellauni.
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Faction Foldouts:
- Dux Build: Location should read “Spaces with Cavalry and more Friendly than enemy pieces
(including Raiders).”
- Civitates Muster: the second part of the Procedure should read: “or — if valid Site with more
Friendly than enemy pieces (including Raiders) — (...)"



- Saxons and Scotti Surprise: the rule reference for Coup de Main should be 3.6.4, not 3.6.6

Battles Sequence (Siege) (Clarification):
- The bullet point should read: “If that Stronghold was not Assaulted and the attacker has at least
as many non-Evading Troops as the Stronghold’s Capacity, the defender must remove 1 unit
from inside (if any, Cavalry to Casualties); count attackers for only 1 enemy Stronghold each.”
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Card #43 “Omens” (Clarification):
- This Event may only be used to modify the faction eligibility order on a regular Event Card
(Events #1 to #72), never on a Pivotal Event or Epoch Event. Should an Event card with its faction
eligibility order modified by the play of Omens be trumped by a Pivotal Event, it retains its
modified eligibility order as it gets postponed.

Card #45 “Thanet”, Shaded Event (Clarification):
- When Settling in two spaces, a given Raider may only provide a roll for 1 Settle space, even ifin a
space adjacent to both Settle spaces (best to place the eligible Returning Raiders in the Settle
space they will roll for).

Card #68 “Niall Noigiallach”, Unshaded Event text:
- The number somehow fell through the cracks... the text should read: “Reduce Scotti Raids by -1
Raider each space (after Patrol).”



